top of page

Advisory Board

Mehmet Durman.jpg

Prof. Dr. Mehmet Durman


Prof. Dr. Mehmet Durman graduated from ITU Faculty of Chemistry and Metallurgy in 1982, completed his doctorate at Birmingham-Aston University in 1989, and worked as a researcher at the same university between 1989-1990. In 1990, he was appointed as the Assistant Professor to ITU Sakarya Faculty of Engineering as a faculty member, and in 1992 he received the title of Associate Professor. He worked as an Associate Professor at the Department of Metallurgical Engineering at Istanbul University Faculty of Engineering between 1993-1996 and was appointed as the Professor of Metallurgical Engineering at Sakarya University Engineering Faculty in 1996. Prof Dr. Mehmet Durman served as the Rector of Sakarya University between 2002-2010 and Bilgi University between 2015-2016. Being the Founding Rector of Beykoz University, Prof. Dr. Mehmet Durman is still the Rector of this university. Prof. Dr. Mehmet Durman has served as an executive and a member of many national and international commissions and working groups regarding the Bologna Process, especially the issues of quality assurance and national qualifications framework, and has worked in these areas.

Prof. Dr. Gölge Seferoğlu


Gölge SEFEROĞLU is a faculty member at California State University, San Bernardino. She holds MA, EdM, and EdD degrees from Teachers College, Columbia University in the fields of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) and Applied Linguistics. 
Dr. Seferoğlu worked at Middle East Technical University in Turkey for 23 years and trained thousands of English teachers at the pre-service and in-service levels and supervised 44 MA and PhD thesis in TESOL. She has conducted many funded research, has published in respected journals and has been cited extensively. Dr. Seferoğlu also served as the Dean of College of Education at Middle East Technical University for 4.5 years. Her research interests include social justice in ELT, technology enhanced language learning and teaching, pre- and in-service teacher education, and quality in education.

Shadow Seferoğlu.jpg

Engin Ayvaz


Engin has worked at higher education institutions as an ESL/EFL instructor, leader and consultant for more than 20 years and is currently the Director of Intensive English Center at Tennessee State University. Prior to that, he served as the Director of School of Foreign Languages at Yasar University in Izmir-Turkey for 12 years and successfully led the IEP to receive its Commission on English Language Program Accreditation (CEA) accreditation in 2011 and reaccreditation in 2016.  Engin was a Hubert H. Humphrey Fellow at Boston University and a visiting Fulbright fellow at the English Language Studies Department at M.I.T. He  served as a CEA Commissioner for the 2014-16 term and was the 2017 Chair of the CEA Commission. He currently serves on the Executive Board of EnglishUSA (the American Association of Intensive English Programs). In Turkey, he led a task force charged to establish the Accreditation Board for Language Education (DEDAK).  On its 50th Anniversary, TESOL International Association recognized Engin as one of the 30 emerging leaders who will shape the future of both the association and the profession for years to come. His work focuses on quality and excellence in language teaching and international higher education.

Dr Mary Reeves.JPG

Dr. Mary Reeves

Mary Reeves, PhD, is the immediate past executive director of the Commission on English Language Program Accreditation (CEA), the specialized accreditation agency for 340+ programs and institutions in the U.S. and internationally, which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education (USDE) to oversee accreditation and quality assurance for English language programs and institutions in higher education. Dr. Reeves served CEA from its inception in the 1990s, participating in the agency’s early development, standards review, peer review system, government approval, and financial growth. She served as an elected commissioner in 2000 – 2003 and as Commission chair in 2004, during which time CEA developed an accreditation system for international English language programs. While serving as CEA’s executive director, as part of CEA’s strategic international outreach she cooperated with and assigned resources to DEDAK initiatives.


Prior to becoming CEA’s executive director, Dr. Reeves directed language and intercultural exchange programs on university campuses and in private school settings. She has an extensive background of service and advocacy in the international education arena, having served as president of the American Association of Intensive English Programs (AAIEP, now EnglishUSA) and as vice president of the board of directors and chair of governance of the U.S.’s largest membership association supporting international education and exchange, NAFSA: Association of International Educators. Since her retirement from CEA in 2020, Dr. Reeves continues to be active in the accreditation, quality assurance, and the related regulatory field. She is executive advisor to CEA and serves as a public member on the Council for Academic Accreditation for the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), ensuring unbiased decision-making and ethical governance practices for the Council. She stays engaged with the English language program as well as the international educational exchange arena, attending conferences, speaking, conducting research, and writing.

bottom of page